Unholy row at luxury car factory

The Reverend Francis Cooke

The Reverend Francis Cooke

I can’t imagine this ever happening in the Philippines, but then this is a predominately Christian country. But in England, Bentley Motors, makers of luxury cars so beloved by Arab sheikhs, has sacked its Christian chaplain in case his presence offends non-Christians.

To add insult to injury, the chaplain, the Reverend Francis Cooke, was sacked just before Christmas.

Despite ten years’ service helping Bentley workers, including non-Christians, he was asked to leave immediately.

Bentley, which is now part of the massive German Volkswagen group, said: “We have a wide range of faiths and want to take a multi-faith outlook. It would be very difficult to have somebody from each faith.”

The clergyman was stunned by the decision which he called “ridiculous”. Over the past decade he has visited the company’s factory in the north England once a week in his chaplaincy role to chat to workers.

“I am not angry but more upset because I am very fond of the workers and they trusted me,” he said.
“There have been no complaints against me and my position is to help people and not just those who are Christians.

Bentley cars - so beloved by Arab sheikhs

Bentley cars – so beloved by Arab sheikhs

“It is not just about offering religious services. I provide counselling to workers who have stresses at home such as broken marriages. I would spend a few minutes with each person which would be enough to help them feel better,” he added.

Workers at the giant factory are furious. They’ve launched a campaign to reinstate the highly respected chaplain, who they said was an ‘important figure’ who had even helped one employee who had been on the brink of suicide.

A chaplain with another British company said he was not allowed to mention his faith unless the person he was talking to requests it.

“Almost 100 per cent of  those I visit or talk to are not Christians,” he said, “but I get requests to see a large proportion of them. Only one person has been offended by what I have said, and that was a Christian lady who misunderstood what I said.”

“I deal with those of all religions and those of no religion. I deal with families, the sick, those who are dying and even get asked to do funerals by those who are not Christians. I do not do my job to gain converts, but to simply carry out the highest demand of my faith, which is to help those who need help,” he added

Said one Christian observer: “A little bit at a time Christianity and British traditions are being wiped out of our lives. The stupidity of political correctness is erasing both at an alarming rate.”

Leave a comment