Brickbats and bouquets

I used to use DHL/WWWExpress when I needed to get a letter or parcel somewhere in a hurry. Their service was efficient and friendly, but I got fed up with the usual long wait to be served. So I moved my business to Air 21 – they were slightly more expensive, but no waiting time and staff members were always helpful.

Last week I went to Air 21 to send a letter from Bacolod to Manila. Imagine my surprise to be told the price had shot up from P112 to P196 – that’s almost a 100 per cent jump.

Air 21 - highly-priced service, but at least with a smile

Air 21 – highly-priced service, but at least with a smile

I tried to contact Air 21 president, Bert Lina, to ask why such a huge increase, but no response. However, one of his minions emailed me saying:

“In our continuous efforts to serve you better we have updated our shipping rates to give you the same convenience and reliable service we provide. Rest assured that our rates are still competitive with the existing market industry shipping rate.”

I thought that was laughable. Competitive? Who do they think they are kidding? DHL/WWWExpress charges 97.75. LBC P100 and the humble PhilPost Express Pouch service is a modest P80.

As they all provide the same service, there is clearly no need to bother using Air 21 again.

***

I’ve been paying my PLDT bills religiously and promptly for the past 12 years. I’ve never missed a beat until recently when there was a mix up and I failed to make a payment.

If this happens in Hong Kong, Japan or England, the telephone company will send you a polite, but firm letter alerting you to a missed payment which must be made by such-and-such a date or the service will be suspended.

PLDT - no warning if you miss a payment

PLDT – no warning if you miss a payment

Alas, not with PLDT. They simply cut you off – just like that. No warning, no notice. Snip, snip. Rather brutal I thought.

This came at a bad time for me as I’m in the middle of a major project that requires constant calls to Manila.

At least I now know where I stand with PLDT. And I’m a long-time shareholder too. Something to raise at the next AGM perhaps.

But a bouquet to the PLDT employee who saw my predicament and, once I had paid the bill, had my service restored within 24 hours rather than the usual three to five days.

Leave a comment